AFTERTHOUGHTS

Ok, so the Simplex Net did not go as planned. And I will admit that part of it was my fault. My radio was not as thoroughly tested and ready for simplex as I had thought.

That said, there was a large showing of support from the Westerly area for the HE Net preceding the simplex net, which was awesome. I just wish everything had worked out enough to have been able to hear them check in on simplex.

WE HAVE LEARNED!

And we will keep learning! Being one (or the only?) simplex net in south east Connecticut I have to say that it was a learning experience, hopefully for more than just me and my radio (which apparently I need to read the manual again for). I know a bunch of stations were able to make contact which was excellent. I do not yet have any data as far as what power or where people were, but that is something I’d like to plan to collect next time, either over the air or email or on a repeater afterwards.

NEXT TIME?

Yes! I plan to run another Simplex Net. I think the day we picked worked out really well, so I’d like to schedule the next Simplex Net for about 1 month away — Tuesday August 22, 2017. Same time same frequency. This date is of course subject to change. We can discuss it on the next few HE nets and see what works best.

 

EDIT: Sorry for mentioning my post on the Net tonight and then forgetting to click the Publish button!

Leave a Reply

